Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for June 12th, 2011

Freeway

I was preparing to head out for another solo day scrambling in the Flatirons when I heard that Jenn and Jeremy were planning to do Freeway, a long 4th class route up the Second Flatiron. More than happy for their company I agreed to join them and serve a bit as a guide (having done the route once 2 years ago), but they may have gotten more than they bargained for as I drug along two cameras.

A short hike from Chautauqua took us right to the base of the route where rock shoes and a couple chalk bags emerged from packs. I led up trying to find the easiest terrain and was mostly able to follow chalk marks from prior ascensionists. Once we moved up from the shade of the trees it got a bit hotter and Jeremy had to beg some chalk from Jenn.

Climbing ahead and shooting video with a GoPro camera mounted on a small tripod I had a bit of excitment when the camera slipped off its perch and tumbled to Jenn’s feet. I felt lucky on two accounts: one because the camera was fine and two because it captured the whole ride on video.

After the “diving board” another soloist passed us and helped take over leading duties towards the end of the route. We also got some expansive views including the neighboring First Flatiron and some climbers on the Direct East Face route.

Read Full Post »